So the problem with review blogs…

It’s 10:55am on a Tuesday in August, and I had the sudden urge to blog something. I was wandering through freshly pressed reading things about genre and editing and thinking; well this blog is all about reviews; so I can’t really add much to it…

What I’m not looking for is a general purpose blog with a few reviews on it, I want this to be a pretty solid review blog; what can I say, I have got it in my head that it’ll be helpful some day. Whether it will or not I have no idea, but at least I can have some fun whinging about books I don’t like and praising the ones I do. Right now I am reading Audrey Niffenegger’ The Time Traveller’s Wife and; it being as far a stretch from C as you can get, has drawn me in completely. It’s nice to have a change every once in a while; and look at what I’ve reviewed – I like my variety.
(Co-incidentally, this is also why I don’t want to read the Game of Thrones series, because how boring would it be to just have 7 consecutive reviews all about George R.R. Martin and how he can create a pretty damned excellent (and absorbing; according to my family) set of fantasy novels. Don’t get me wrong; I have nothing against fantasy. I’d just rather see this blog filled with all sorts of things rather than 7 of essentially the same thing.

But that’s what my problem is; ‘all sorts of things’ only comes when I finish the book I’m reading and The Time Traveller’s Wife is around 600 pages long; so it’s not exactly anorexic in book standards. But this got me thinking, would it be so bad to find myself some short stories and post my thoughts on them? I think I’d refrain from individual poems – but a poetry collection? Maybe a few plays will get a look in! (but for that I’d have to scrounge together some money to go and see the things first… or at least find a dramatisation on YouTube starring Kenneth Branagh, I’m pretty sure I’ll find one for most things.)

I think it may be time to expand; certainly. I doubt I’ll be branching into film and television, but the more literary side of things I can see happening. Ideally I’d like to post on here around once a week, a nice transition from once a book, I think.

One thought on “So the problem with review blogs…

  1. I always enjoy reading your reviews, even if I haven’t read the book myself. It’ll be good to see how you fare with shorter pieces. 🙂 Looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

